Woman looking over desert
Sage Institute is an educational nonprofit that supports the promotion and practice of all forms of mindfulness and meditation. We offer mindfulness and meditation classes, events, retreats, and a comprehensive meditation leadership program. We believe in consciousness, creativity, and meditation as vehicles for personal, community, and political transformation.

Please join our mailing list and follow us on Facebook to hear about our current offerings, practice sessions, and helpful resources.

Upcoming Online Workshops

CEUs may be available for your licensing organization.

Hands playing piano

Staying In Tune: Meditation for Musicians, Artists and Performers

Accessing a “flow state” beyond the critical mind is essential to removing obstructions to more easeful and confident creative expression. In this course, we will explore meditative techniques for moving beyond self-criticism and opening up to our natural creativity. Taught by Sensei Sean and other musicians and performers with extensive meditation experience.

POSTPONED: Date TBA

Two people sitting on yoga mats meditating

Meditation and Mindfulness for Yoga Instructors (Yoga CEUs Available)

What’s beyond asana?  The eight limbs of yoga include meditative practices for deepening the union of body, mind and spirit. Join us in exploring how meditation can enhance and expand your own yoga practice and that of your students. This course meets Yoga Alliance requirements for Continuing Education Credits. Taught by Sensei Sean and other Sage Institute Yoga teachers. 

Sunday, August 4th
11am – 5:30pm Eastern Time
9am – 3:30pm Mountain Time

Register Now

Young Women at a Protest

Recharging Your Activism: Overcoming Burnout Through Meditation

A special course for activists and community organizers. Learn mindful self-care techniques to prevent burnout and compassion fatigue and recharge your activism through meditation.

Sunday, August 11
11am – 5:30pm Eastern Time
9am – 3:30pm Mountain Time

Register Now

woman meditating

Beyond Mindfulness: The Practice of Presence

Do you ever feel like you’re running on autopilot and not fully present to your family, friends or work? Have you practiced mindfulness but feel like there could be more to it? In this course, we’ll share intermediate and advanced techniques to expand our experience of presence in our daily lives.

Saturday, August 17
12pm – 5:00pm Eastern Time
10 – 3:00pm Mountain Time

Register Now

A woman holding her head frustrated and confused, plus text information about Untangle the Story class

Humans are experts at creating stories in our minds and believing them to be real. Negative, unexamined stories can fill us with doubt, anger and sadness. Zen teacher Sean Tetsudo Murphy’s model is a practical system that demonstrates how default thought processes mix up our perceptions of actual reality with preconceptions, past conditioning, and personal history, thus creating unhappiness.

In this 4-week live online class, you’ll learn how to untangle the unconscious process of story creation, resulting in greater freedom and happiness in our hearts, minds, and actions.

Tuesdays, Sept 10, 17, 24, and Oct 1
7 – 8:30pm Eastern Time
5 – 6:30pm Mountain Time

Register Now

Sage Institute’s 200-Hour Meditation Leader Training Program

is a comprehensive online program for experienced meditation practitioners to learn how to effectively and authentically teach others the transformative practice of meditation. Through live Zoom classes, biweekly self-paced modules, one-on-one coaching with experienced teachers, and small peer groups, students gain the skills, confidence, and wisdom to teach others.

Sage Institute offers one of the only meditation teacher training programs backed by a 2500-year old Buddhist lineage, through its lead teacher Sean Tetsudo Murphy, a formal Zen Sensei. Although we introduce our students to the prevailing meditative forms in the West such as Zen and Vipassana, our 200-hour program has developed its own inclusive, secular approach to teaching contemplative practice, suitable for trainees of any tradition.

Refresh, reignite, or establish your meditation practice with our Online 28-Day Meditation Challenge!

Register now for the Spring Forward 28-Day Online Meditation Challenge. Start anytime and you’ll receive 28 days of supportive instructional emails and daily guided audio meditations that you can listen to on your own time from the comfort of your own home. Teachers include Sensei Sean Tetsudo Murphy, Mirabai Starr, Tania Casselle, and Sage Institute’s Meditation Leader Training Program graduates.

Whether you are new to meditation or an experienced practitioner, the Spring Forward 28-Day Online Meditation Challenge is a valuable resource accessible for 8 weeks total — you’re welcome to go back and listen to the recordings as many times as you’d like during this time. Sliding scale registration. No one turned away for lack of funds.

Community practice session. Join us for 60 min of meditation and Q&A Wednesdays at noon Mountain Time.

Join our Live Weekly Meditation Practice Sessions

Every Wednesday, Sensei Sean Tetsudo Murphy and other Sage Institute community members lead 60 minutes of meditation and supportive discussion. All are welcome. This is a hybrid online/in-person event.

Join us at 11am Pacific / 12pm Mountain / 1 pm Central / 2pm Eastern. You’re welcome to attend all or just part. Please mute your microphone when you join to not disturb others. ZOOM CODE: 499-493-449

If you’re in Taos, NM, join us at the Taos Community of Love (formerly known as Unity of Taos) dome at 69 Blueberry Hill Rd, Taos, NM 87571.